Skip to content

you had me til colonics

August 21, 2009
tags: , , ,

nothing like reading a chapter on colonics to send me running away from a raw food detox clinching my boooooo-tay.  i finished reading The Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose.  the verdict is that i’m officially not on board.  without criticism. 

reading this book was good for me.  it reinforced what i already know and answered some questions my instincts have pondered about whole foods vs. “natural” foods.  i learned all kinds of awesomeness about digestion.  this book helped me focus on reevaluating some of my veg habits, like acknowledging that tofu and soy milk are probably to be avoided more often processed foods,  reinforcing how we all know “natural” means very little and certainly does not mean organic or safe or non-GMO, and reiterating how i feel about faux meats and cheezes (tho honestly,  ever since reading this study, i’ve felt queasy about these things, particularly as these are produced in China).  

there are some dietary adjustments i’m going to try on for a while in search of optimizing how my body functions.  i’d like to incorporate many more raw foods into my diet.  i’d especially like to start my day out with a green smoothie (once i purchase a blender, that is).  this book helped me define the principles of my dietary philosophy and my boundaries.  who knew there are things out there i’m not even willing to consider!?!   

i am super glad i read more about this subject.  and i’m always curious to learn more, so if anyone has a suggestion that does not involve colonics or enemas or any other waste management servicing beyond exercise, i’d love to hear it.   i’m looking forward to trying out many of the awesome yummers raw foods recipes.  i’m thinking about my caffeine intake and moderating gluten.

oh, and first up in switches that are going to work for me, i found a hemp milk i am really enjoying.  it’s Pacific brand, vanilla flavored.  i don’t usually go for the flavors, though i find hemp milk to be bitter and strange without it.  one day i might feel differently.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 7:36 pm

    Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

    • maya938 permalink*
      August 26, 2009 1:52 pm

      thanks! and thanks for dropping by!

  2. fortheloveofguava permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:30 am

    Mm… Mr. Guava and I were just discussing our soy intake and this article: http://www.choosingraw.com/the-raw-truth-all-about-soy/ I’d really like to look into all of this for myself and i’m definitely trying to wrap my mind around how to incorporate more raw goodness into our lifestyle. I love hearing about what everyone else thinks about all this!

    • maya938 permalink*
      August 26, 2009 1:57 pm

      Yes, I love the Choosing Raw recap on soy. I have done quite a bit of my own research and testing out my body’s reactions, though I have never been able to solidify my thoughts on it. All of the raw treats out there look so good! I need to spend some time loving on my raw cookbooks. Oh and my friend gave me her gently used blender – SO EXCITED!!!!

      • fortheloveofguava permalink
        August 28, 2009 4:26 pm

        ooh… that is exciting!!! My old dinosaur blender was totally holding me back and my food processor’s completely changed my life!! I’ve been nut pate-ing it up weekly!!!

Leave a Reply

