Skip to content

mood enhancers

June 30, 2009

sammers

1 –

shaggy puppy called Sam

2 –

awesome yoga sessions this week

3 –

days until spa getaway, hill country style

( )

( )

( )

1 –

black bean hummus

SusanV’s recipe is amazing.  my gf and I have been salivating over the idea of a black bean and a hummus in one place together.  oh.  yes.  i virtually followed her recipe to a T.  i had freshly picked serranos on hand so i threw them in instead of chipotle peppers.  i opted for no yogurt.  i still feel loyal to the chickpea on the hummus title so i called it bean dip.  couching it this way reminds me of that canned bean dip shit i used to see a lot on camping trips when i was a child.  i never could get near it.  now, i’ve got my own gross-out-free bean dip made w/ my summer bestie the Black Bean.  it was a huge hit at the pool party this weekend too!  no party decorations atop of this blazin summer bean dip though.  i’d love to see some proof of that climate cooling right about now guys, m’kay?

2 –

paintings in mind! taking my camera, sketch pad and oil pastels to the hill country – ooooooooooooohhh!

3+

best friends in the whole wide world who seem to understand my angst.  so nice.

( )

( )

( )

1 –

rockin tofu recipe

it’s Vegan Brunch Lemon Pepper Tofu!  OMG, so good.  aside from taste (which reminds me of eating a lightweight, nonfishy, fish lemony delish dish), it’s an easy pairing, and i would put it in my fantasy Vegan Rachel Ray 30 Minute Meal cookbook and tv show.  where is the Vegan cooking show?  it’s needed.  badly.  i was watching Emeril’s Green Planet cooking show thinking it had serious potential.  i had tuned in recalling a mention of Emeril’s vegetarian show, whaa?  anyways, we need a vegan cooking tv personality.  i love that Isa’s lemon tofu does not require pressing the tofu.  if you haven’t caught on by now, i forget things.  in my mind the tofu press has a lot of time sensitive and lengthy steps and i just haven’t set my mind to doing all of them.  by the time i preheated my over, i was throwing in asparagus to begin roasting, and 1/2 way through tofu prep for baking.  another thing i like is the baking.  my tasty and fresh meal really was ready in 30 minutes.  think Rach will give me props?

2 –

plans for future career paths


windfarms_email

3 –

colors in this rockin stirfry –

this was another 30 minute meal.  sometimes a stirfry is what a girl wants.  all health, no fuss.  lil tamari/braggs/siracha.  call it done.

blog 6.6 285

3 Comments leave one →
  1. fortheloveofguava permalink
    July 8, 2009 12:09 pm

    Okay…
    1) Is that your PUP??? **Grabs at Doggy** LOVE HIM!!!
    2)Umm.. yeah.. black bean hummus
    3)How about “Think Outside the Cage for 30 Minutes w/Maya”?? I’d tune in!!!
    4)Ugh.. Emeril Green… my butt… just because he does it in Whole Foods doesn’t make it green!!! Oh and I saw him do this one with a nutritionist to help a family “get healthy” and it was totally awkward because clearly he didn’t realize all what he was putting in everything and the lady was trying not be condescending when really I’m sure she was thinking… “are you kidding me?”
    5) You’re awesome sauce!

  2. maya938 permalink*
    July 8, 2009 9:46 pm

    LOL. Yep, that’s my Sampson. I love shaggy puppies! I knew the Emeril thing couldn’t possibly be true. Everyone I know has expressed interest in learning of healthy, whole, DELICIOUS, fast, local veggie based dishes. I know I would benefit from being shown how to do veg like Rach. Vegan cooking show, vegan cooking show!!!! REVOLT!

Trackbacks

  1. food and friends « think outside the cage

Leave a Reply

