Skip to content

pantry scrub taco night

June 29, 2009

 

blog 6.6 302

with one meal left prior to payday, i decided to forego a trip for groceries and make dinner due with whatever ingredients were left dwindling around the house.  i was sure craving some tacos.  luckily i had on hand some WW tortillas, mushrooms, a can of black beans, and nooch… oh, and my humongou-sized jar of japs.  score!

i sauteed my mushrooms in olive oil, garlic and a bit of salt/pepper.  once ready, i added jarred salsa to the mix to make it tex-mexican. 

i made my favorite nooch faux velveeta queso.  i have perfected my substitutions and addons to the recipe as follows:

Maya’s Favorite Velveeta-like Vegan Queso

Almond (or other nondairy) milk

Nutritional Yeast flakes

Pickled jalapeno juice (oh yeah!)

Cumin

Chili Powder

Onion Powder

Touch of yellow mustard

Touch of Earth Balance

Touch of sea salt

I used the same boiling pot to saute my mushrooms before making queso.  I thought the flavors would lend well together and I don’t like doing more dishes than necessary.  I left the mushroom juice in the pot and added my almond milk to it, raising the temp to bring it to a boil.  Unfortunately, I cannot be held accountable to measurements.  I eye balled the whole thing.  Once the almond milk was boiling, I reduced the heat and gradually whisked in nutritional yeast flakes until it thickened up quite a bit.  I poured in some jalapeno juice until it reached my desired consistency.   I added all remaining spices and ingredients.  I let it simmer together while I heated up beans and tortillas. 

The assembly of my tacos went tortilla, beans, mushrooms and queso topping.  It was a sweet ass meal and took very little time to prepare.  The only downside was that I had nothing green and consumable in my kitchen.  I hit the farmer’s market very shortly after to restock.

As an aside, I note that this nooch-velveeta-cheese-wanna-be is my absolute favorite of the faux cheese ideas in the sphere – even in the face of the various excellent faux cheeses I’ve been experimenting with lately.  I never thought vegan queso was a substance with any possibility of getting high ranks from me, but I’ve officially been proven wrong. 

Next run of experiments will include dabblingwith cashew un-cheese recipes.  I wasn’t over the top crazy about the noochy or the daiya mac n cheeze I made.  There is much room for improving this comfy food and an abundance of recipes to try.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. twoveganboys permalink
    June 30, 2009 3:32 pm

    I really like your blog.

    • maya938 permalink*
      June 30, 2009 4:03 pm

      thanks very much! welcome!

  2. fortheloveofguava permalink
    July 8, 2009 11:53 am

    oy! How much did I miss???

    hehee… okay… I already knew you were amazing but jalapeno juice in your cheeze?!! pure genius!!! nachos here i come!!! now i totally have to think of some sporting event I’m halfway interested in so i can have a themed party…ha!

Leave a Reply

