Skip to content

amorous black beans

June 4, 2009

the “amorous” part of the title to this recipe reflects my love for the black bean.  if i had to survive off 2 foods alone it could very easily be the black bean and the avocado.  i’m so in love with those two.  even great together – oh jeezus. 

i think i’ve mentioned it before but i find it so amazing i think it’s damn worthwhile to mention again – when i was a Carni, i could not eat beans.  the standard bean fair i had tried was essentially beans cooked with bacon or some other pork meaty substance.  OOOOWWWW, they hurt my stomach.  it was too miserable an experience.  i refused all beans for the first 28 years of my life.  it’s amazing to me that beans sans meat substances are perfect pairs with my system.  i have zero problems eating beans that are all veg.  no gas, even!  how crazy and beautiful is that!?!?!  LOVE.

Amorous Black Beans

Dried black beans

Red Onion – chopped; the more the better

Canned Tomatos

Canned green chiles

Fresh jalapeno – chopped

Fresh garlic – chopped

Sea salt

Cumin

Chili Powder

Fresh cilantro – chopped

Soak the dried beans in water w/ salt.  Soak time, minimum of 6 hours, overnight is best.

Throw all ingredients except cilantro into a stock pot with enough water to cover all ingredients.  Volumes of ingredients should be valued with your taste preferences.  I like things spicy so I load up.  Typically 1 jalapeno is plenty tho.  Bring ingredients to a boil.  Reduce heat to slow boil.  Let boil for a couple hours.  Lower heat and let cook for several more hours.  This could be done all day in a crock pot if I had one.  Stir in chopped cilantro before serving.  A great pairing is a bowl of beans with avocado chunks thrown on top.

One Comment leave one →
  1. fortheloveofguava permalink
    June 5, 2009 4:01 pm

    oh wow! I’m always such a lazy but I eat beans from the can… I may have to break my lazy streak for these… I do have a crockpot… just no counterspace for it!

Leave a Reply

