Skip to content

what the hell did i just eat? part II

January 8, 2009

hahahaha.  i’m finding it incredibly humorous that i’ve caught myself again getting all vegan excited and trying something different, satisfied that because it’s vegan it’s obviously good for me, but not knowing what the hell it actually is or why it’s good for me.

backing up a few steps, i have about a million homemade tamales left over from my dinner party.   the food was ok at the party.  eh.  comparatively, it was sort of a let down.  i’ve enjoyed some amazing recipes lately.  MMMMM.  but saturday, just ok for me.  still don’t care much for mole.  lost my watercress?  weird.

i’ve encountered a number of recipes for faux chile con queso and been tempted to try them.  tempted b/c i love queso so much i could bathe in it, of course.  on the other hand, i really couldn’t imagine faux queso panning out as acceptable taste and consistency.  i got high queso standards, m’kay?  this time(!) the picture was finally right.  my tamales needed a sauce.  i even had all the ingredients in my pantry, so sweet*.  i was going for it. 

i have been trying to convince E to come over for my cooking for some time.  he’s super confused by my diet. i am an excellent cook, i would tell him.  i am not in the spirit of eating foods that aren’t great.  vegan?  he wasn’t buying it.  he’s clueless in a really adorable way about food and nutrition.  he cannot understand the good properties of avocados.  this man** 🙂   last week i took an opportunity to manipulate the situation so that he tasted my soup.  uh-huh.  think i hooked him. 

he agreed to come over for dinner the other night.  i served him tamales with faux queso and a jicama avocado salad.  i won’t lie, i hurried to prepare the queso before he got there.  it starts as this powder and smells um, a lil different, then you add yellow mustard to that smell… my advice is to breathe through the mouth until you add the spices, which save the day.  it tastes good.  i was nervous as he tasted the queso.  he could not believe there was no Meat in the queso.  Meat, he said!  not cheese, Meat!  that’s awesome.  i think that’s probably my favorite compliment from a nonveg.  oh, and, please laugh with Us – i pulled out my book to show him about avocados.  he still does not get it.  that’s so amusing to me.   

my goal is to cook food that is contributing to my good health and also fucking great, right?  i enjoyed the queso but when E asked what exactly “nutritional yeast”*** is, the only answer i had was “not meat or dairy” that tastes fucking good.  haha.  not exactly the answer that matters to me.  so today wiki delighted me with this great answer

[Nutritional Yeast] is produced by culturing the yeast with a mixture of sugarcane and beet molasses, then harvesting, washing, drying and packaging the yeast. It is commercially available in the form of flakes, or as a yellow powder similar in texture to cornmeal, and can be found in the bulk aisle of most natural food stores.  It is a source of protein and vitamins, especially the B-complex vitamins. It is also naturally low in fat and sodium. Some brands of nutritional yeast, though not all, are fortified with vitamin B12.  

i was just thinking about vita-Bs yesterday when i learned that B12 is only present in meat b/c the meat has been contaminated with the bacteria that produce it.  weird.  vegans have to supplement B12s.  wasn’t yet sure how i was going to accomplish that.  lesson learned today, in order to be more healthy i have to supplement my diet with queso. 

fair enough.  Veg.

 

* having to totally plan in advance kills cooking at home for me.  it’s so awesome to have a pantry with all of the oils, spices and core ingredients my recipes call for.  i will have this routine down soon.    

**  i’m glad we’ve gotten over the “you’re so weird” phase.  we are each quite weird in our own right.  but now, we find the wierd to be cute in each other.  it’s fun.  or funny, depending on the circumstance.  typically the latter.

*** or “Nooch” as the Veg bloggies call it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. personalinsight permalink
    January 8, 2009 9:00 am

    I thought that the tamales were exceptional!!! If they were actually only “okay” compared to the rest of the things you have prepared, then sign me up for a weekly dinner. 🙂 I’ll be your guinea pig any day of the week, my dear.

  2. November 17, 2009 3:03 am

    oh yeah! hi5.

Trackbacks

  1. take that, velveeta! « think outside the cage

Leave a Reply

